HELP, I Want to RESIGN!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by guest3687, Jan 31, 2011.

1. guest3687

guest3687 New Member

Jan 31, 2011

Hi, I am a first year teacher (since august 30, 2010) and I have held on as long as I can.

I have my bachelors for elementary education, did student teaching in a first grade class. Most experience with kids have been with 2-5 year olds. I was nervous about being offered a position teaching fourth grade but said I would try the challenge, and therefore accepted the job.

However I am always stressed and anxious, since October. I've relapsed into depression, been in and out of work so sick leave is used up. I'm seeing a psychiatrist and a therapist and if I actually thought I could make it through to June I wouldn't be writing this post.

I want to go back to my younger kids. I had a job on and off for the last 2 years while in school working with infants to five year olds, and I LOVED it. I want to be back there, or at least with that age group. I plan on contacting that job this week to see if they have any openings or sub positions. I just need an out, one that is as smooth as possible.

My mothers concern is of course my benefits and what not. My concern is being sane and happy. I've held on for as long as I could. Going into the classroom like this doesn't help me, the students, their parents, or the rest of the staff. I know leaving now may mess me up with the county forever, but like I've said I have been down since October, wanted to end before 2011 even started, have so much going on with me, that I do not care. If for some reason in the future I want to return to this county then God will make a way. Right now I just want an out and I am ready to give my letter of resignation on Monday, February 7th as my two weeks notice.