Help! I Want to be a Teacher!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by MissJai, Jul 9, 2008.

1. MissJai

MissJai New Member

Jul 9, 2008

I just recently graduated from a 4yr NY institution with my BS in Management/Sports Management. Now I'm stuck and have no idea where to go from here. I originally began college as a Secondary Education/English major and changed after the first semester. I am happy with the degree I earned, but I regret not sticking it out in Education. I have been told that I can still earn a Masters in Education but I have been searching Accredited Online schools for information and I am lost.

3. AngelM

AngelM Rookie

Jul 9, 2008

I earned a masters in education, and my bachelors was accounting. This allowed me to get certified to teach. Maybe you could call around to the education departments of some schools you're interested in and see if they offer such a program.

4. MissJai

MissJai New Member

Jul 9, 2008

AngelM:

What course or specific interest/program did you choose? I keep looking for something that says "Secondary English" and I'm coming up empty handed. Maybe I'm not searching correctly.

Thanks for your reply!!!

5. AngelM

AngelM Rookie

Jul 9, 2008

My masters is in curriculum and instruction. The program was called interdisciplinary studies.

6. EMonkey

EMonkey Connoisseur

Jul 9, 2008

You might try english language learners. In California CLAD is the abbreviation used.

7. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Jul 9, 2008

When I went to school (in NY) I was under the impression that you could not get your teaching certification unless your BA was in certain areas. I would e-mail or call the NYS department of education and see what you will be able to do before you start taking graduate classes.

8. Chef Dave

Chef Dave Companion

Jul 9, 2008

I'm a little confused.

Are you wanting to teach NOW while pursuing a Master's or would you rather earn an advanced degree first, before you teach?