Help! I stink at teaching writing!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Toast, Aug 19, 2011.

1. Toast

Toast Companion

Aug 19, 2011

Hi fellow teachers. I am a 3rd grade teacher going into my 4th year teaching and I have a question for you.

What do you recommend for reading/self professional development for becoming better at teaching writing.

I am embarrassed to admit it, but I am not very good at teaching writing. Reading, math, science, social studies......I am confident in those areas, but writing? I struggle.

Any recommended reading/websites/teaching strategies from those who have mastered the art of teaching writing?

Not handwriting........... actual writing of paragraphs.

Thanks!

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 20, 2011

www.writingfix.com was my life savor last year.

I also start with 4 square writing and the 6 traits. 4 square will help you organize the students when writing and start to add details, 6 traits will help with much more areas of writing but doesn't offer a specific graphic organizer.

4. MIteacher

MIteacher Rookie

Aug 20, 2011

Two Writing Teachers

I recommend the website Two Writing Teachers.

The website offers many great links as well as current blogs.http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/

I have found many of their posts to be inspiring and helpful.:)

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Aug 20, 2011

Best advice I was given years ago: You don't have to be a great writer for your students to learn from you. You just need to be a little bit better than they are.

I think this is a Nancie Atwell quote, but she is definitely not who told me this.

6. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Aug 20, 2011