Help! I just got a SPED teaching job for a position I've never had before

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by lovethislife, Apr 28, 2020.

1. lovethislife

lovethislife Guest

Apr 28, 2020

Hello,
    I have been a SPED teacher for only three years and the experience has only been at a high school and a middle school. I just accepted a position as an elementary resource teacher and am looking for someone who can help me get oriented with what I need to do to be successful. This is very different than my previous positions. I don't want to start a new job not knowing what I am supposed to do. Can anyone offer advice or support as regards to methods for scheduling with gen ed teachers and other DIS providers as well as scheduling aides? Do you think it would seem like I don't know what I am doing if I asked to talk to other teachers about this in the school or at the district?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 29, 2020
  3. Sadnezz

Sadnezz Guest

Apr 29, 2020

I spent several months as a student teacher in a RSP setting. Connecting and creating relationships with students + general education teachers are a must. Being organized and staying on top of things are very important too. As a resource teacher, you will have to do assessments for initials and tri's, hold IEP meetings (initial, annual, tri's, and transition). My mentor teacher was on top of everything, and she would attend staff meetings...and volunteered at after school activities to bond with the families.

I saw new RSP teachers (at my school) found scheduling to be a difficult task. Students have different minutes on their IEPs. So, it was hard for them to figure out a schedule that would meet the students' needs (grouping) and meet the minutes...and they had to be mindful about what the students were doing in their general education classroom at the time they pulled them out. In addition, they had to give their IA's a schedule and works.