Help! I Have an Interview Tomorrow!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MMRbella, Jun 28, 2007.

1. MMRbella

MMRbella Companion

Jun 28, 2007

I submitted an on-line application to a district on Monday. On Wednesday, I was called by a principal from one of the schools to set up an interview for Friday. But...

I was so excited to get called, that I didn't bother to ask what position it was for! Lol! It's so hard to get a job in NJ, that I was thrilled to hear from her.

Online, I had applied to everything from pre-k to 4th. Though I searched and searched, I couldn't find anything specific about the job openings in this district.

However, I looked into a board agenda (I was desperate), and found that a fourth grade teacher put in for retirement recently at this school. While 4th grade isn't my first choice, I would be more than thrilled to work in this district.

Here's my dilemma--

I am a new teacher. The only experience I have is in student teaching and substituting. While I subbed in prek-grade 4, I student taught in pre-k (junior field) and 2nd (senior field). I am an early childhood major! I'm more than ready to learn, but I don't have any experience with fourth grade!!! How can I spin the experiences I DO have, to make them look good for this position?

3. srh

srh Devotee

Jun 28, 2007

Wow! Congratulations on your great timing with applications!! :D

And I would say first, just remain as calm as possible and envision what "picture" of yourself you'd like to leave with the interviewer. I think sometimes we get so absolutely caught up in the "questions and answers" portions of interviews that we forget it is OUR WHOLE PACKAGE that is being observed! (Granted, the questions are important too; I just don't want you to worry so much about them that they miss the "good stuff" you have to offer.)