Help: how to keep going

Discussion in 'General Education' started by HorseLover, Nov 3, 2013.

1. HorseLover

HorseLover Comrade

Nov 3, 2013

I'm a first year teacher, and it's been really tough especially this last week or so. I honestly have days where I just feel like giving up and quitting; however, I don't think I actually will because I've heard it gets better plus I've agreed under contract to work! Any tips/suggestions to help me keep going when those tough weeks come? I try to take breaks (leaving a bit earlier than normal, etc) when I can, but honestly I feel like I am already behind as it is with everything. :dizzy:

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Nov 3, 2013

You're a first year teacher. You're going to be behind for... oh... the next 29.5 years or so. This year will be the worst. The most important thing you can do is prioritize. Some things need to be done today, some need to be done this week, some need to be done when you can get to them (this pile is generally known as the pile that won't ever happen). Also, keep detailed lesson plans. They won't be a huge help to you this year, but having detailed lesson plans will make your life much easier next year.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Nov 3, 2013

When's your next break? Plan at least one day of that break for you...get a mani, go to the movies, meets some girlfriends for lunch...whatever...or grab your SO and plan a getaway. Have SOMETHING to look forward to.
    Try to find some downtime every weekend as well. You simply cant be your best all week if you don't take care of you.
    During the work week, find time to take a walk, or have a cup of tea or a glass of wine with dinner. Find things to laugh about with your students. Celebrate small successes.
    Breathe.you can do this.:hugs:

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 3, 2013

What exactly are you finding so tough?

6. HorseLover

HorseLover Comrade

Nov 3, 2013

Quite the mix of things: