Help for middle school student

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by waterfall, Sep 3, 2011.

1. waterfall

waterfall Virtuoso

Sep 3, 2011

I had some teachers asking me about a middle school student yesterday. I really wasn't sure what to tell them(I have no experience with this age group), so I told them I'd think about it and get back to them- so I'm hoping you all have some fabulous ideas! This student is an 8th grader who is on an IEP for ADHD. In my experience, kids only get IEPs for ADHD if it is really severe. Apparently the student is extremely intelligent (IQ is off the charts) but literally can't do anything in regards to following a routine or just making it through a school day. Last year, they literally had teachers walk him to his next class, all year, even if the class was down the hallway. The way this school is set up, all the 8th graders have the same exact schedule. So seriously, the 30 kids that were in the class before with him are all going to the same exact place. Even knowing that, and having the exact same schedule all year, he couldn't manage to follow the other kids to the class. One of the teachers was telling me that she walked him from art to math class every day, which was just down the hall. On the way there, she'd ask him where they were going/what class he had next and even in January after doing this all year he'd be confused. They also had to constantly have a teacher or peer go to his locker with him and tell him what supplies to get out, what he needed next, make sure he put other supplies back into the locker, etc. The middle school is so small right now, and they're extremely worried about what he'll do in high school next year (which will be HUGE). I guess mom is anti-medication so he's not on anything. He's technically on another teacher's caseload, and I tried but I can't see his IEP paperwork on our website because of that, so I have no idea what it says there. The teachers say they weren't given anything last ye