Help! Experienced teacher has inherited MESS!

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by nikkisped, Feb 11, 2007.

1. nikkisped

nikkisped Rookie

Feb 11, 2007

Hi, everyone! This is my first time here. I can't wait to hear from you all. I have been in Special Ed for 10 years. The last 4 were as an admin,so I 've been sitting on my tail for 4 years. Missed the kids, so went back to public school system. (I am in an urban area)
    I've done several kinds of self-contained, including multi-disabled, autistic, and all kinds of MR.
    Well, I am in a BIG MESS. I am in a high-profile school. I have CDC "mild." 10 kids and one temp assistant who is sweet but moves very slowly and ONLY does what I ask her to do-otherwise sits in a chair.
    3 of the kids have autism and several have severe MR. ONLY 3 are w/out severe aggressive behaviors. One has CP and is non-verbal. # are not potty trained. I am crying every day after school! because my class is labeld "mild," I can't have another assistant, although even my sped supervisor knows I need one.
    2 of my autistic kids are so disruptive and destructive that I've had to padlock all cabinets becasue materials were being destoyed daily.
    I have biters and kids throwing chairs. I have been hit, spit on, bitten, and kicked. Even IF I wanted to physically restrain a child, I couldn't bc I am small and that would leave the rest unattended.
    My kids have not attended supports (art, PE, etc) even though their IEPs say so. NONE of the admin will help me arrange that to happen.
    Even lunch is chaos. I have ONLY left my room to go to the restroom. I have to go in early and stay late to do any planning, and we are not allowed to make copies, and my copy requests are denied bc the former teacher used up the allottment. Did I mention my class watched TV all day before I came?!
    I am falling apart! Please help!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thanks.

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Feb 11, 2007

So.... this is not what you missed?