Help. Did I screw up my student teaching?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by NewYoungTeacher, Sep 25, 2019.

1. NewYoungTeacher

NewYoungTeacher New Member

Sep 25, 2019

Hello all, I'm new to site. I've come here because I need an outside opinion on whether I really did screw up my relationship with my mentor teacher.

I want to apologize in advance for the long story. There is a summary at the bottom for those of you who don't want to read the wall of text.

A little background information:
    I'm getting my certification in Art Education. I was placed last minute with a high school art teacher who has not been provided any information on practicum. From the very beginning he expected a lot from me. The first day I meet him, he asked me what I was planning on teaching the students during the first week on school. I explained to him I was there to mostly observe and learn.

Strike One:
    Before I left after the first day I asked the MT when I should come in for tomorrow. His only response was that school starts at 8:20 am. So the next day, I arrived at 8:00 am and that was Strike One. One of the teachers from the department screamed "you're late!!!" I felt so embarrassed but I didn't want to provide any excuse and instead I asked MT "what time he came to school". He told me comes in at 7:15 am and I told him "then, I'd like to come in at 7:30 am, if that fine with you(MT)." He said "sure" and I was never late again but I feel like it still left a bad impression on him.

Strike Two: