HELP! Cover Letter Stress!!!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ChriCres, Aug 20, 2007.

1. ChriCres

ChriCres Rookie

Aug 20, 2007

I've applied for a few positions and haven't heard anything.... It’s getting to the end here, we start September 5th. A school posted today for a leave replacement. I think my cover letter might be my problem; I tried to work with it some more today. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :D

Dear ____________,

I am a current graduate student of ________. This May I received my Master of Arts in Elementary Education. I am very interested in applying for the elementary leave replacement position in your school district.

I recently completed my student teaching requirements at ___________. Here I was able to work with exceptional mentors that helped me prepare for my future career in education. During my time at ________I was learning the importance of adjusting lesson plans to fit the needs of my students. In the sixth grade I used cooperative learning, read alouds and hands-on class experiments to implement a math and science curriculum. My planning and preparations skills, along with my creativity and interactions with students, were tested and developed. This experience gave me the confidence to tackle any challenge that comes my way. With my future students I hope to be able to provide them with the knowledge, respect and self-esteem they will need to become valuable citizens in our community. My goal similar to the _______________ is to provide my students with a nurturing environment where they are encouraged to take risks in order to reach their goals and dreams.

For the past year and half, I have been a substitute teacher for the _______________. Substituting has been a valuable experience for me, as I enjoy the spontaneity and creativity inherent with a new class. Every day is an opportunity for me to increase my teaching experience and confidence.