Help! Contract Renewal But I Want a New Job...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Bean, May 5, 2014.

1. Bean

Bean New Member

May 5, 2014

Hello,

I am a music teacher at a small rural private PS-12th grade school. I have been at this school for 3 years, love the students and my principal, however my husband and I are struggling financially and feel it is time for me to make the move to public school where I will receive a higher salary and better benefits. This is proving to be harder than expected however, as music positions are few and far between and I don't want to leave a contracted position before I have something else lined-up.

My renewed contract has come out for the 2014-15 school year but I have yet to secure a new position. I have applied for a couple of positions but have yet to receive an interview. I also got word that a large district in my area will not be posting their openings until mid-June! My principal is asking that we sign and return our contracts this week, but I do not want to sign it until I have a least attempted to find another job. Our contracts do not contain a section that states how much notice we should give before "leaving" which means if I sign it and accept another position then I'm breaking it. What should I do? All of the advice I've seen has said that I should not tell my principal until I have an offer from another school but I'm going to have to tell her something since she wants the contracts a.s.a.p. Should I tell her I'm looking elsewhere and negotiate a new deadline?

Any advice would be appreciated...

3. melnm

melnm Companion

May 5, 2014

I chose to leave the first school I taught at in favor of a school closer to my house. I was commuting an hour each way. I was just honest with my principal that I needed a job closer to home. I think if you are just honest and upfront with your principal about your plans, that is the best way to go.

4. joeschmoe

joeschmoe Companion

May 7, 2014