help! can't afford instructional 2 credits

Discussion in 'General Education' started by maybeblissful, Oct 19, 2014.

1. maybeblissful

maybeblissful Rookie

Oct 19, 2014

Hi,
    I am a teacher at private school.I earn 26,000 a year and my school does not pay for me to continue my education. Most courses around here are about $500 a class. Does anyone have anyone advice or ideas for what I can do?
    Thank you

3. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Oct 19, 2014

Take out a loan and take the class. When the class is over get a part time weekend job to pay back the loan. There aren't many schools who give you money to take classes so I'm thinking you're on your own and have to be creative with this one.

4. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Oct 19, 2014

Do your credits have to be in a specific area?

There are places online that will often offer CEUs for free but they are specific to that company's products. For example, I believe that some chemical supply companies (Fisher, maybe?) offer free online safety classes.

I seem to remember that some forestry services did something similar.

Look into your local YMCA and YWCA. I used to teach classes there and they weren't that expensive. They were a day and a half classes (Friday afternoon and all day Saturday) but each participant received one full CEU.

Good luck!

5. maybeblissful

maybeblissful Rookie

Oct 19, 2014

Thank you that's helpful! I'll look into that.

I tried a private loan but I don't qualify because of pay as well as a loan I already have from when I didn't have health insurance.

6. geoteacher

geoteacher Habitué

Oct 19, 2014

I agree with looking into other sources for credit. I teach social studies, and many of the workshops I attend will have an option for inexpensive credit.

7. 2ndTimeAround

2ndTimeAround Phenom

Oct 19, 2014

Just a quick Google search, I haven't looked into any of these:

http://education-portal.com/articles/10_Websites_Offering_Free_Online_Teacher_Education.html