HELP! Biggest decision of life!!!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by MissKH81, May 18, 2009.

1. MissKH81

MissKH81 Rookie

May 18, 2009

I've been a teacher for 7 years in a private school. My objective this whole time has been to obtain a public school job due to the stability, security, professionalism, and let's be honest...the pay!

To make a long story short, my current private school is a FABULOUS place to work-great parents, nice/smart students, and a great principal. However, due to the economy, we had to let go of MANY teachers for next year, cut classes, etc (not me ...thank God!). Sadly the future for this great school looks bleak.

I just got an offer at a public school! I'd be making about 14, 000 more per year and not have to worry about job security. HOWEVER, the school is dirty, classrooms are over crowded and small, most the kids are low and have behavior problems, and the teachers are crabby.
    I sound like an IDIOT to even think this over due to the pay increase, but the new school will actually be worse than my current one! Do I stay or go??? What would you do???

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 18, 2009

If you can survive on your salary then I would stay with the private school.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

May 18, 2009

This is my 23rd year teaching in a Catholic School.

I'm delighted to be where I am and have no desire to teach elsewhere.

But your first paragraph sounds as though things are different for you.

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

May 18, 2009

:lol:

Aside from the place being dirty, that school sounds like mine! :lol:

Truthfully, for 14k, I'd take the new job. That's a lot of money, more than 1k per month. You could get a second house for that sort of money!

6. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

May 18, 2009

Being that the future of your private school looks bleak I would go with the public school job.

7. MissKH81

MissKH81 Rookie

May 18, 2009