Help! (again)

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by missjessica, Jun 30, 2011.

1. missjessica

missjessica Rookie

Jun 30, 2011

What would us first year teachers do without all of your advice?
    I'm teaching high school next year, but this summer I'm teaching PRESCHOOL for four weeks. I just got my classroom today and:
    1. Every single thing is covered up or locked away (which I totally understand)
    2. The district is not giving us money to use to buy what we need
    3. I'm a first year teacher so I don't have any materials.

Some other teachers were nice enough to let me borrow a few boxes of blocks, games, books, and I set up a play area with a little sink, fridge, stove, etc.

I have very limited resources. I decided to go with a "jungle" theme since the teacher next door had leftover materials from last year. Anyone have any suggestions for jungle-themed projects or books I could find within the next few days (time is tight because I'm also moving tomorrow)? I have preschoolers who are 3-4 years old and all have language delays.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!:)

3. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Jun 30, 2011

Read lots of jungle books! I can't think of any off hand. You might want to go to the Preschool message board and ask. I taught kindergarten ESY and I did an activity where they fished for sight words. Google it and you can see directions. Since you will have language impaired little ones, you can do it with pictures and they have to say the pictures of the word.

4. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 30, 2011

They could make a giant tree and different animals to hang from it. Butterflies are easy. You could make other animals too for the tree.

Sequencing activities are great. Maybe give them pictures and having the sequence them in order, especially ones that go along with a book that you read.

Marble painting with blues and greens.

5. xitalianacutiex

xitalianacutiex Rookie

Jul 2, 2011