Help! Advice regarding Paraprofessional

Discussion in 'Paraprofessionals' started by cali_teacher, Feb 14, 2014.

1. cali_teacher

cali_teacher New Member

Feb 14, 2014

Hi, all!

I'm new to this forum and am looking to get some advice for my classroom. I'm a full-time special education teacher and work with three paraprofessionals in my classroom. I moved to my current district this past August and have been working with my three aides since that time.

I have one paraprofessional who has been undermining my authority as classroom teacher. She constantly questions my decisions and will even try to change my lesson plans when I am not there. She bullies the other two aides in my classroom. Both my administrator and I have sat down and talked to her (on separate occasions) about the classroom expectations, she has not heeded the advice that has been given to her.

As a former paraprofessional myself, I am disturbed that she would act like this. Is there any advice you can offer to how I can work more effectively with her? Please help!

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Feb 14, 2014

If she is directly going against a directive given to her by administration, then it's an administrative issue. Document exactly what is being said and when, and pass it to your administration. They will be better able to handle the situation than you will.

4. cali_teacher

cali_teacher New Member

Feb 14, 2014

Thank you for the reply! I will start doing that.

5. teresaglass

teresaglass Groupie

Mar 29, 2014

With this paraprofessional undermining your authority and bullying the other aides, could you not ask to have her switched to another room?

6. Teachwrite!

Teachwrite! Rookie

Oct 3, 2014

I am so sorry!