HELP!!!! Advice for a teacher trying to find a job!!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teach3510, Aug 23, 2011.

1. Teach3510

Teach3510 New Member

Aug 23, 2011

Hello. I have came to this site often for ideas, but this is my first time posting. After 2 years of teaching for a local corporation I find myself in a terrible situation and I am wondering if my teaching career is over before it really began.

During my 2 years with the local school corp I was hit with some serious health problems. My first year I went over my sick days, but I had doctors statements for any day over my limit. I was told by my union rep that that should make it ok since I was having a legitimate health issue. I was still put on an improvement plan which was understandable.

The following year my health problems had actually worsened. I was also switched to a different school and now working for a principal that was far less understanding. He actually made my year worse and more stressful which led to my health being even worse. I spent way more time and money at the doctor than I ever wanted, but they were having a hard time figuring out what exactly was wrong. I once again went over my days, but still had statements from the doctor for each day I was out. The principal seemed determined to get rid of me and the corp were looking for ways to trim the budget. At the end of the year my principal came to me and said the he was recommending that my contract not be renewed. I got in touch with the union president and did all I could to fight for my job, but in the end they were not willing to keep me. I was advised to resign and did so. It really was just a case of bad timing for my health. I feel that I am a good teacher and I worked extremely hard both years I was with this corp. My students really liked me and their test scores improved while I was their teacher.