HELP!! 8th Grade talkers!

Discussion in 'Behavior Management' started by dkjackson, Sep 21, 2010.

1. dkjackson

dkjackson Companion

Sep 21, 2010

This is my first year teaching, and my subbing experience was largely with high school juniors. So 8th grade has been quite the ride these first four and a half weeks. And here we are, darn near through the first six weeks, and I'm still having unbelievable difficulties with the talking. This is really the only behavior issue I'm having. I don't have any students who are openly defiant, and the students are participating. However, they talk over one another, and they talk over me. And I'm exhausted after just my first hour-and-fifteen-minute block, and still have the whole rest of the day to get through! These students are really good students, they just can't seem to get the talking under control.

And my principal has noticed since day one. She even left some notices about classroom management seminars in my box today that I'm pretty sure no one else, at least in my department, received. And I'm really starting to feel like a failure because it seems like every conversation I have with anyone at school is about how the management is going. I hate living in survival mode, and last year when I was doing a LS assignment, I thoroughly enjoyed waking up every day. Now I dread going in to work.