Having trouble engaging students!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by robinsky, Nov 26, 2010.

1. robinsky

robinsky Rookie

Nov 26, 2010

I'm in my 4th year teaching middle school math, and I feel like I'm burning out this year. I've always had trouble keeping the whole class engaged, and this year I've been told I need to amp that up, to have more hands-on activities, to make it more interesting and engaging. I need some concrete ideas on how to do this! My kids love it when I have review games, but that only seems to work for review, on regular days to learn new concepts it's hard to do that.

Anyone have activities to help engage all the kids, not just the motivated ones but the ones who don't really want to be there?

Thanks in advance!

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Nov 27, 2010

Some projects I did when I taught 7th grade:

-Through A to Z, I got them math pen pals from the UK. Each of my 180 kids got a pen pal. At one point, we exchanged a list of prices, and the kids converted from the Pound (I think it was before the Euro) and the dollar, and attempted to explain any radical differences in pricing.

- They did a scale drawing of any room in their house. I printed up some furniture prices (with dimensions) from the Ikea web site, and gave them a budget.

- I had them watch an episode of Cyberchase on PBS and write it up. (That one was a little below their level, but they still talk about it, and now they're Juniors!)

- When we did simple interest, we found a house in the paper and "bought" it, pretending it was the house across the street from the school. We figured out the monthly mortgage payments and the total payback; they were stunned to find that they would pay for a house 2.5 times over! Then I did the same thing using Pert, and showed them how compound interest changed the numbers a bit.