Having second thoughts about education career

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by TAPenrod87, Aug 1, 2015.

1. TAPenrod87

TAPenrod87 Rookie

Aug 1, 2015

Hello everyone,

I became really interested in becoming a teacher. I thought I would be good at it, I was excited by the opportunity and challenge of working in urban areas, I enjoyed my experience as an adult literacy tutor in a rough inner city, and I thought I finally had my career path figured out. I love teaching people. I do it every day as a fitness trainer and a tutor but those are adults...and they came to me voluntarily.

So I applied to a masters of education program and I was accepted. The problem is, I'm starting to wonder if I am the type of person that can handle teenagers day in and day out. I love learning and presenting information but I have no experience in a classroom. I applied to the program and was accepted during the summer so I wasn't able to get any experience.

I haven't turned down my acceptance yet but I'm not sure what to do. Do I go and take the first semester and see what it's like? The director of the program said I will get plenty of classroom experience right away in the program.

The only other thing I can see myself doing is to continue working as a personal trainer. Maybe opening my own business. Money is not coming in though and we're struggling. I almost made 500 last month and my wife, though so patient and supportive, is getting concerned and burned out.

Thanks for any advice. I really need to figure out what I'm doing.

Thanks again

3. Missy

Missy Aficionado

Aug 2, 2015

If you are concerned about teen-agers, perhaps you could get a Master's and teach at a community college. It is hard to know if you will like something ahead of time, but I would be concerned that you are already concerned, unless it is just jitters before getting started.

4. TAPenrod87

TAPenrod87 Rookie

Aug 2, 2015