having a hard time

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by matherine, Oct 5, 2011.

1. matherine

matherine Rookie

Oct 5, 2011

This is my first year of teaching. I feel like I've committed the cardinal sin of being too "easy" at the beginning of the year and not being consistent enough with my rules and procedures. Letting students get away with small misbehaviors that I didn't think were an issue has caused them to get completely out of control. Now I can barely get their attention and we aren't getting as much done as we need to. Kids are being disrespectful to each other, stealing from each other, refusing to stay in the classroom. This week I implemented a clear ladder of consequences, but cracking down on them now after letting so many things go is causing my students to strongly resent me and loudly voice the fact that they hate my class and that I don't understand them. It's also causing lots of kids to get referrals since they blow through all the other consequences so quickly, which I know is a bad thing. I've been doing all I can to pack each period with activities to keep the kids engaged and not allow for down time, but I feel that I've trained my students not to listen to me or take me seriously. I'm fearful that I'll never be able to get them to work as productively as they need to to actually learn all this stuff!

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Oct 7, 2011

Would it help you to know that I did the exact same thing in my household and got pretty much the exact same reaction from everyone, particularly my teenagers? After about 3 weeks it died down and things ran like clockwork like I've never seen before. Truly!

(We had moved half way through last year and I let a lot go and I was still learning to set up structure in the new place along with the fact that we stayed in a motel for a lot of it. Plus we've had to adjust to the fact that I'm back to being a stay-at-home mom.)

It's still relatively the beginning of the year.