Have a PhD, but students refuse to call me Dr. even when I tell them to do so

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Jerry Dill, Apr 27, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jerry Dill

Jerry Dill Companion

Apr 27, 2017

I finished my PhD in the last year, and I have instructed students to call me "Dr. Dill" But there are a couple of students who refuse to use my title even after I asked them directly to use the title. (There are also some downright confused students, but this posting is not about the confused students).

One 10th grader told me that doctors were only medical doctors, so she didn't see my PhD as a real doctorate.

The other is a very smart 12th grader, who is also being very stubborn. I used my title in several corrections on her formatting of Google Documents, and I use my title in signing emails to her. And I pointed out to her that she didn't accept the revision I made to my title, but she had accepted almost all the other revisions I made to her document. She just "rejected" the suggestion I made to change my title from "Ms." to "Dr." on her Google document. Since she is doing this consciously and intentionally, I have told her she can explain to me her reason for rejecting the change, but that in she doesn't give me a reason with merit then I am going to have her talk with the headmaster.

Any thoughts on this refusal to use a title of authority? Is this due to my gender? Anyone else seen or experienced this? Is this Oppositional Defiance Disorder in the students?

3. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Apr 27, 2017