Hard time with team member.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by bewlove, Nov 24, 2015.

1. bewlove

bewlove Companion

Nov 24, 2015

Hey, friends. I am having a TOUGH time with my teammate. She is also my team leader, so while I'm not sure that she is really my "boss", she is in a leadership role.

She is so critical of everything that I do. I'm not saying that there aren't times that I may make a mistake-it is my second year and I am new to this school. I'm learning. But, rather than guiding me, she just makes derogatory comments in front of others. For example, I had a student take a test to determine RTI groups while there were some workers in my room. They were quiet, and I don't feel like my class was chaotic or loud. However, he didn't do so hot on the test. While we were discussing it as a team, I suggested that maybe he was distracted because of his surroundings. She made a couple of frustrated remarks about how I shouldn't have tested him during that time. Then she finally said, in a slow and frustrated tone, "Well, we just need to think about these things..." like I am a child being reprimanded. Obviously, if I had thought the environment was too loud or distracting, I wouldn't have had him take the test there. This may not seem like a bid deal, but when you are on the receiving end of these types of comments approximately 3 timers per day, you start to feel torn down, degraded, etc.

I have tried the "kill her with kindness" approach thus far. Every day I ask her how she is, how her day is going, what her weekend plans are, etc. And every day she is very short with me. She never speaks to me unless spoken to. I'm honestly not sure why. I feel like I get along with everyone else in the building just fine.

My new plan is to just not speak to her unless spoken to. However, we work closely as a team, so that is difficult. She will still manage to find a way to tear me down. My other teammates have noticed and mentioned it.