Hard for experienced teachers to get hired?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by frtrd, May 31, 2013.

1. frtrd

frtrd Rookie

May 31, 2013

I know that there is a tight job market right now, and that it's hard for almost anyone to get hired. I've especially heard that it's hard for experienced teachers to be hired because they're expensive to hire.

But the shortage can't last forever, right? (Right???) When things bounce back again, do you all think it will still be hard for experienced teachers to be hired? Was it hard for experienced teachers to be hired in the "good old days"?

(I ask this not because I'm an experienced teacher myself. I'm just curious about my future prospects. Also, I hope this is the right forum. I'm not currently a job seeker or else I would have posted it in the Job Seekers forum.)

3. SF_Giants66

SF_Giants66 Cohort

May 31, 2013

In an economy where experience is seen as a detriment because of the figures on the budget, you'll likely see the inexperienced teachers getting hired over the teachers with 10 years of experience, depending on the location.

4. frtrd

frtrd Rookie

May 31, 2013

Yeah, I know that in the current economy it is rough. But I am curious about what it is like when the economy is good. I'm curious whether getting hired has ALWAYS been a problem for experienced teachers.

5. SF_Giants66

SF_Giants66 Cohort

May 31, 2013

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 31, 2013

There's not a teaching shortage. There's a tight job market.

7. smurfette

smurfette Habitué

May 31, 2013

In my district, pay the same amount out of their budgets to central office no matter how much experience the teacher has. The principals hire, but our salaries come from the central office, so there is no real monetary incentive for principals to pass up experienced teachers in favor of inexperienced teachers. Smaller districts are probably different, though.

8. cheeryteacher

cheeryteacher Enthusiast

May 31, 2013