Harcourt Curriculum

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by Pencil Monkey, Sep 1, 2007.

1. Pencil Monkey

Pencil Monkey Devotee

Sep 1, 2007

Anyone else using the harcourt curriculum in third grade?

This is my first year using it, and at first I liked it. But now i'm finding that it is way to easy for some of my kids. And we don't have all the books that are recomended to do reading groups for the different level readers. I am finding my students bored with the material.

What do you do to make the content more in depth or advanced?

3. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Sep 1, 2007

I only have the textbooks and the tapes - the workbooks are on order. I plan to use novels, too.

4. hoku625

hoku625 Rookie

Sep 1, 2007

We're using the Storytime books and workbooks. I agree, the workbooks are too easy for some of the students. But, we put a lot of emphasis on the response portion and work with the students on creating a good response with evidence and a connection. I force them to infer based on their reading, that makes it more difficult for them.

5. sayuri

sayuri Rookie

Sep 8, 2007

we are using storytime too. we spend much more time working on reading response w/ evidence than other portions of the program. i hope to incorporate novels later in the year.

6. blue678

blue678 Rookie

Sep 8, 2007

we focus a lot on the vocab. words and the "focus strategy" (I made them bookmarks with the reading strategies on them). with the vocab., i have them come up with "working definitions" with a neighbor based things they already know and context clues ... then as a class we finalize the definitions and write them into our notebooks. we don't do our definitions until after we've read the story once - not sure how others handle this.

i also use the audiotext on day 3 and give them each a post it to write down any questions / new words / etc. (this ties in with with the reading strategies - clarifying, etc.)

hope this helps a bit :)