Handwriting problems (dysgraphia)

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by letsteach, Jul 14, 2012.

1. letsteach

letsteach Comrade

Jul 14, 2012

I am a kindergarten classroom teacher and I have a student who joined my class from another school. I know we start from what a child can do, but I am stumped by this child. She literally cannot sit still, cannot maintain eye contact for 10 seconds, cannot listen to instruction, cannot process instructions, has a 1 minute attention span and has difficulty concentrating. The above traits are not worrying me as they are manageable. (From observations, I do believe she has a deficit disorder but mum thinks everything is OK). We work one on one with her as she cannot process instructions as to what she needs to do with activities. I thought that all the phonics I had taught she had not retained, however upon oral testing, she knew quite a few (half of them). However she cannot put sounds together eg, c-a-t and will guess any sightword.

The concerns I have for this child is that despite having 5 practice sessions to write a letter (whiteboard, 2 x worksheet, handwriting book and a homework sheet) she cannot write a single letter. We practised direction from left to write using wavy lines, curved lines and a straight line. She could not draw anything that resembled a straight line.

It is as though she has some kind of processing problems when it comes to writing. (I have begun to research dysgraphia). Her gross motor and fine motor skills are age appropriate. Any suggestions as to what I can do in the classroom to help her? If this is the case, who is the professional that helps a child like this? We have parent/teacher interviews soon and I would like to have all my facts and examples ready for the parent.

3. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Jul 14, 2012

I'd start the RTI process now if your district does it that way. If not, begin the special education referral process.