Handling stress?

Discussion in 'Substitute Teachers' started by KittenCatIV, Nov 19, 2012.

1. KittenCatIV

KittenCatIV New Member

Nov 19, 2012

Does anyone have any tips for handling the stress of substituting?
    I don't know if it hits other people as hard, but every day that I work (even if everything goes pretty smoothly) I come home exhausted, with a headache, and just crash. It's cutting into the number of days I work, because one day of subbing will leave me wiped for at least a full day. I keep hoping it's just because I'm new to this, but...
    Help!

3. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Nov 19, 2012

Why do you think you are so tired? Is it because you're dealing with behavior issues and it gets to you? Or are you that involved in the teaching / student activities part? Are just exhausted or stressed out as well?

You have to remember that although subbing has a lot of positives, it doesn't pay too well, so you definitely don't want to give up your life to the point where you can't do anything after work, or don't feel like working the next day.

I feel more tired when the kids try to be bad and I don't handle it as I should, which means there is more chatter, I end up talking more, and that leaves me tired. That's what happened today. They weren't bad, but 6 periods of 8-12 graders in one class, full size chatter box boys who talk constantly as if they were girls.... Well, i forgot how that crowd can be (I'm usually used to more mature kids).
    So I wasn't very happy with them, but it wasn't bad. I, however refuse to get stressed about it, I already have my plan of coming down harder on them tomorrow.
    When I do that, I don 't feel tired :)

4. TamiJ

TamiJ Virtuoso

Nov 19, 2012