Handling classroom behavior: book knowledge vs what really works in the real world?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by tek_war505, Sep 30, 2010.

1. tek_war505

tek_war505 Rookie

Sep 30, 2010

I have been a subsitute teacher for a couple years now and I am taking classes to transition to the teaching profession. I am working on licensure in special education. I have taken about three classes now addressing classroom behavior and students who have emotional & behavioral disorders. There seems to be large gap between book knowledge and what they desire students to practice in the classroom and what teachers actually practice and what works!

Special Education teachers I have subbed for who were effective at controlling their classrooms I have noticed practice everything and do everything I am specifically instructed NOT to do in the EBD and intervention classes I have taken.

I notice these teachers will yell at their students at the top of their lungs, threaten the students, challenge the students and egg them on to attempt to challenge their authority, being disrespectful and giving very cutting remarks to students who step out of line, get in power struggles and always win the power struggles, readily dish out punishment to the entire class not limited to giving the whole class detentions and certian students get a whole month of detentions for misbehaving for one day in class, write referals at the drop of a hat, seeming extremely cold and rigid to students feelings.