Haitian Students

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by QueenB, Aug 26, 2007.

1. QueenB

QueenB Rookie

Aug 26, 2007

Hello all. I am new to the school I'm teaching at and there is a large Haitian population. Is anyone familiar with certain Haitian customs they could share with me? The other day one of my little boys who does not speak hardly any English came to me at the begining of the day and kissed me on the back of my hand. I think this is a good thing - a way of greeting? Are there any suggestions of things that I could do to make them feel more comfortable in my classroom? Thanks!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 26, 2007

I'm not familiar with Haitian customs but I would definitely think that a kiss on the hand is a good thing. Treat him with kindness and compassion as you would any student with an understanding that everything is going to be new and perhaps stressful for him. He will learn to speak
    English though his desires to interact with youand his classmates. Enjoy him!!

Do you have ESL/ELL support in your school? :love:

4. QueenB

QueenB Rookie

Aug 26, 2007

Oh yes, we have plenty of support and a couple of para's who speak haitian-creole. Just wanted a little bit of insight from others.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 26, 2007

To make some incredibly broad generalizations:

The Haitan kids tend to be very respectful of authority. The parents hold education and educators in very high regard. They tend to parent very strictly as well... the Haitan kids I know have the earlier curfews and the most discipline.

6. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Aug 26, 2007

Children may be reticent to make eye contact with others because it is seen as more respectful to avert the eyes.

7. Ms Z

Ms Z Companion

Aug 28, 2007