Hair dye thread

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by catnfiddle, May 15, 2011.

1. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

May 15, 2011

I started going white (not gray, white) in my mid-teens and my roots have been like snow since before I graduated college. Because of this, I've had a long time to play with every variety of brown and red hair color. KinderCowgirl went to college with me and might vaguely remember me when it was the shade of an eggplant (although I hope not).

Since I'm closer to 40 than 20, I'm trying to tone it down a little and also do my own color. I love my hairdresser but he's expensive! After years of using Feria, I'm tired of how badly it fades after a couple of weeks and am shopping around a bit.

For those who admit they color (obviously open to the men as well), what do you use? Are you happy with it or do you stay with it out of habit?

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

May 15, 2011

First, I didn't know you went to college with Kinder!! What a small world!

Secondly, I used to color a lot but stopped when one time I turned my hair orange. I always used Clariol.

4. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

May 15, 2011

This isn't very helpful but honestly if you have white hair and want it covered, I would splurge on getting it professionally done and cut the money somewhere else if I could. I just don't think there are at home products out there that are going to do it for you if you have a lot to cover.

Usually if you go to a professional they can upkeep your roots for minimum and if you get a single process instead of multiple highlights, it should cost as much. Ask your hairdresser if there is anyway you can purchase the good stuff from the salon for in between touch ups and see if he will show you what to do. Or maybe just talk to him and tell him you are trying to cut expenses and ask what he suggests.

5. porque_pig

porque_pig Comrade

May 15, 2011