Had to make a tough decision and feeling bad about it

Discussion in 'General Education' started by HistoryVA, May 6, 2014.

1. HistoryVA

HistoryVA Devotee

May 6, 2014

UPDATED!!-----Had to make a tough decision and feeling bad about it

So I am the "drama coach" at my high school. My school doesn't offer any Drama classes. I'm just a history teacher with a slight background in theatre, so when the kids said they wanted to start a drama club, I agreed to do so.

The students decided they wanted to do a "real play" to be performed at night. The school hasn't had anything like this in probably a decade. We decided to do a Night of One Acts, held auditions, cast the show and started rehearsing. It's been a nightmare since the beginning. At least half of the students involved have no sense of commitment. At least 1/3 of the cast dropped out and had to be replaced, rehearsals are skipped without a second thought, no one was learning their lines, it's just sucked, to be honest.

Now, we're less than 2 weeks out (opening on Thursday the 14th) and of the 4 plays, there was one that just had NO hope. Only 2 of the kids had learned their lines (3 MONTHS of rehearsal). The rest of the kids were so frustrated that these students were going to make them look bad and I'm frustrated that I've dedicated 6-10 hours a week for the last 3 months to students who clearly don't care.

So, today, after discussing it with the core group of drama students, we decided to cut that play. It's not happening. The other 3 will go on and I'm trying to find SOMETHING for the kids who actually cared to perform. The thing is, though, these same kids who didn't learn their lines and give me attitude about coming to practice were extremely upset about the decision. And I get it. They feel like they put in this time for nothing. But I feel like if they really wanted to do it, they'd have followed through. It just sucks because something that was supposed to be fun has turned into well.. drama!