Guilty about not volunteering

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Kaley12, Nov 26, 2013.

1. Kaley12

Kaley12 Companion

Nov 26, 2013

Hi everyone,
    I'm a second year teacher, and this is my first year in the division I'm teaching. I've been feeling really guilty lately because I haven't volunteered for anything around the school yet.

My issue is, I'm swamped. I'm sure everyone knows the feeling, especially as a new teacher. But I'm worried it looks bad not doing more around the school. I have intentions of eventually getting involved with something, but right now I feel like I barely have any down time as it is. I'm at work an hour before and an hour after to get work done. I work through half my lunch everyday. And I almost always have to put in time at home. I'm creating most of my plans from scratch and I feel like I may burn out volunteering to take more on, but I don't want to look bad and have it held against me when I try to get another job next year (I'm working contracts right now).

Should I suck it up and try to find something to volunteer for? Or wait until I've gotten a bit more adjusted in my new job when I have more time?

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Nov 26, 2013

Your hours sound fairly typical, unfortunately.

Have you been asked directly? Do you mean taking on clubs and such, or are you meaning smaller responsibilities?

4. i8myhomework

i8myhomework Comrade

Nov 26, 2013

Aww, hun, you totally shouldn't feel guilty! I vote for waiting until you have time to adjust. You're only in your second year and a lot of new things seem to be going on. I would spend more time getting familiar with your new position and planning.