Guided Reading

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by busybee, Sep 20, 2006.

1. busybee

busybee Rookie

Sep 20, 2006

Hi,
    I am in my second year of teaching (1st grade this year). With guided reading groups, do you use leveled readers? Because one of my co-workers uses the story from the reading series with her groups. So all students are reading the same story for whole group lessons and guided reading groups. In a way, I can see that her way would be beneficial, so the students are familiar with the story and can really master it. But I thought the books were supposed to be leveled? What way do you feel is more appropriate? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated!
    Thanks!

3. Rosieo

Rosieo Enthusiast

Sep 20, 2006

I do both. However, my first priority is leveled readers for each group. Towards the end of the week I have the children use the story from the reading series, but only after we have worked in the leveled books.

4. teacherece

teacherece Cohort

Sep 22, 2006

If she's using just reading series, it's not true guided reading. GR involves assessing and guiding child's reading level with leveled books. We are implementing it this year. I just finished running records for my students to find their levels. Each group of similar level will read with me a few days each week and rotate from centers, etc. Will also use our basal to introduce on mon. and then reinforce through centers (listening, etc) THis way, when we grade children in reading it is at their level. Those basals are geared to high students, not all.

5. herins

herins Companion

Sep 22, 2006

I agree with teacherece. Guided reading materials should be new to the student, and only slightly above their independent level.

6. MandaNicole01

MandaNicole01 Habitué

Sep 22, 2006