Guided Literacy in Grade 5

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by kalper07, Aug 8, 2008.

1. kalper07

kalper07 Rookie

Aug 8, 2008

I am a relatively new teacher going into my second year of teaching.

I would like to use guided reading groups, but I'm unsure of what to teach in these groups. I work in a very "traditional" environment, so I am kind of on my own whenever I try to differentiate. My curriculum is quite vague and not much help.

I know the basic structure as I used them in primary grades. I guess I've got the HOW to teach, but need help with the WHAT to teach.

3. matchstickgirl

matchstickgirl Companion

Aug 9, 2008

I was on here the other day and someone posted a great link to see guided reading in action. I have gained a lot of ideas and what kind of things to focus in on.

A lot of what was said is to make sure students are making text-text, text-self, and text-world connections. Also to have them delve deeper in the text and talk about themes, main ideas, predictions about what happens next, insights, and asking questions as their reading.

You might even focus in and do mini lessons with cause/effect, main idea, sequence, setting, characterization, etc.

I'm curious to what your structure will look like? I've been really trying to figure out how to do guided reading in my classroom and how to set it up.

4. knitter63

knitter63 Groupie

Aug 9, 2008

I have been teaching reading using guided groups-and one website that has been most helpful is Laura Candler's. It takes time to develop independent work, but it is worth it in the long run. Take baby steps if you are feeling overwhelmed. Use the basal to teach your guided lessons with small groups at first, until you can build up a collection of trade books to use. Focus on what matchstickgirl said-text to text, text to self and text to world. I also focus on one skill each week or two-like story elements, cause and effect and so on.