GT Student?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Roobunny, Aug 14, 2012.

1. Roobunny

Roobunny Comrade

Aug 14, 2012

I'm a first year teacher and got an email from a parent of a G/T child. She wants to know my plans for differentiation. I honestly don't know what to tell her. I don't know her child or what level he's at...should I just tell her I can assign him more hands-on projects? What kinds of modifications should I be making in my lessons?

Not sure if this needs to be brought up, but I don't have a G/T certification...

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2012

You don't need GT certification...email the parent back and reassure her that your goal is to meet ALL students' needs. You will be spending the first weeks getting to know each student's strengths, assessing them, and planning ways to meet their needs. Tell her you will confer with last years teacher and the GT teacher (if there is one) to see what kinds of strategies worked for her child. There's really no need to go into specific details right now with her...you haven't even met the kid yet,:cool:

Heart..GT is gifted talented...

4. Roobunny

Roobunny Comrade

Aug 14, 2012

Thanks czacza! :)

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2012

:hugs:

6. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Aug 14, 2012

HeartDrama, you'd know "G/T" as "GATE".

7. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Aug 14, 2012

I agree with czacza. Usually parents just want to know that you will be challenging their child in your class.

I had a parent schedule a conference the 1st week of school for that purpose last year. I just went over some of what the GT curriculum entails and that allayed their concerns. That may be something to offer them as well (after a few weeks to allow time to assess of course).

8. trulyunic

trulyunic Rookie

Aug 14, 2012

That was good advice cza...

9. Maryhf

Maryhf Connoisseur

Aug 15, 2012