Growing up too fast?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by emmalyne, Jun 1, 2013.

1. emmalyne

emmalyne Rookie

Jun 1, 2013

*Please don't take this topic as if I were bragging. I'm not. I'm just curious.*

When you were youngins' did you ever feel like you grew up too fast? I'm 21 now, and ever since I was 15/16 I already knew what I wanted to do with my life. I wanted to get my car at 17 (check), I wanted to be a teacher by 22 (semi-check), get married by 25 (semi-check, we've talked about marriage & we've been together for 2+ years), and adopt my first fur baby (dogs <3) at the age of 28. So far, everything is going according to plan. I just feel like at this 15/16, I'm matured faster than anybody else.
    When I was a sophomore in high school, I created a binder with all the courses of the teaching program at the college I was gonna apply to. I got into that college & completed their teacher program & i'm graduating next week.

This was just a long ramble, lol. So for those who read this far, congrats.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Jun 1, 2013

No you're not growing up too fast...you just knew what you wanted to do...there's still a lot to learn and I'd advise you to learn as much as you can from your ST experience...some of your posts indicate strong opinions about parents, school policies and kids' behaviors...reflect upon your interactions and experiences...there's still much to learn...never stop learning.

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jun 1, 2013

Having a rigid plan doesn't mean you've got it all figured out. It might actually mean just the opposite. I've known plenty of people with it all figured out because they had a plan. However, it all fell apart and they didn't know what to do then. What's the plan when things don't work out? What if the teaching job doesn't come? What if the marriage doesn't happen? What if you want babies and they don't come? What about divorce? Death? They say life happens while you're busy making plans.