Grouping/ Flexible Grouping/ Time Management

Discussion in 'General Education' started by April Jackson, Dec 27, 2019.

1. April Jackson

April Jackson New Member

Dec 27, 2019

Hello everyone,
    I am currently an elementary teacher taking my masters. I am conducting research for practitioner inquiry and need help. My research is on how flexible grouping impacts time management. I need to survey current teachers, which as you know, everyone is on Christmas break. I was wondering if anyone was willing to help by answering the following questions:
    1. What types of grouping do you use in your classroom?
    2. What type of grouping do you use most?
    3. Do you use flexible grouping? If so, which type?
    4. What factors do you use to determine your group make-up? For example, ability, mixed ability, skill, etc.
    5. What time management techniques do you use?
    6. What effects do you think grouping has on time management?
    Any help would be much appreciated.

3. Obadiah

Obadiah Groupie

Jan 2, 2020

For medical reasons I'm not currently teaching, but I would like to answer your questions. I have strong opinions about grouping.

1. What types of grouping do you use in your classroom? I was required to use fixed grouping in reading and most recently in math. Otherwise, for general classroom teaching, I would often use cooperative learning grouping.
    2. What type of grouping do you use most? As mentioned above, the fixed grouping was for almost every reading/math lesson. The cooperative learning grouping was only used if applicable to the lesson. It should be mentioned that I had small (private school) classes, so I often used the entire class as one cooperative learning group; otherwise I would divide the class into small groups.
    3. Do you use flexible grouping? If so, which type? Standard cooperative learning groups.