Great Plays?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by katerina03, Jul 25, 2008.

1. katerina03

katerina03 Devotee

Jul 25, 2008

Though I am a new drama teacher, my principal is hoping that my students will put on a play or 2 this coming year. I do not want to disappoint.
    Can anyone tell me some of the "best" middle school plays they have seen.

3. dovian

dovian Comrade

Jul 25, 2008

I directed my first show this year. It is a HUGE job, although if I remember correctly you have 3 drama classes, so that should help - you'll have more time in the day to work on it.

Nearly all plays, unless they specifically say otherwise or are out of copyright (Shakespeare etc.), require that you pay a licensing fee. http://www.dramatists.com/ is the link to Dramatist's Play Service; they are one of the many services that hold the licenses.

If you are feeling really ambitious and want to do a musical, Oliver, Annie, Wizard of Oz and Peter Pan are cute for middle school kids, and many other musicals are available in "junior" editions - shorter, with easier music. See www.broadwayjr.com

I have heard of Midsummer Night's Dream being done by middle schools. If you can get them past the language it could work well. Miracle Worker is another they might relate to.

A quick search turns up this as well: http://tinyurl.com/5ntfw2

Another good and cheap choice is to have students spend time writing their own plays and then put them on as a show for parents. No royalties there, and if you charge admission you can make some money to support the program.

4. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

Jul 25, 2008

I think the Broadway Junior plays are really good. I did Midsummer Night's Dream with 3rd and 4th graders last year so it's TOTALLY possible.

I will say, I am a tad jealous, because a drama position would be a dream for me- except I am a few credits shy for the endorsement.