Great Florida Teach-In

Discussion in 'General Education' started by NewTeacher, Jun 10, 2012.

1. NewTeacher

NewTeacher Rookie

Jun 10, 2012

Hey everyone I am looking to relocate from NY to FL. I am currently certified in ESE and SS in FL. I went down to the job fair last year but got down there to late to have any interviews : (

I am wondering if anyone has any advice about the job fair (like if they got offered a job/contract while there). What time should I get to the job fair and should I try and contact principals before I go to see if I can get an interview?

I am especially interested in the southwest area of Florida (Martin County, St. Lucie, Palm Beach), so if anyone has any advice on how to get a job there I would appreciate it!

Thanks!! :D

3. PCdiva

PCdiva Connoisseur

Jun 10, 2012

I have no experience with this.....but I would be emailing EVERY principal immediately with the dates u will be in town

4. chebrutta

chebrutta Enthusiast

Jun 11, 2012

Martin & St. Lucie just put up their open positions. Apply right now through the districts. I'll PM you with more info.

5. DisLauraT

DisLauraT Rookie

Jun 12, 2012

I am also wondering about this.
    I am looking to relocate from IL to central Florida. I primarily am looking at Osceola, Orange and Seminole Counties.

I've been emailing like crazy and am going to call as many as I can tomorrow.

Anyone else have any advice?

6. laelia

laelia New Member

Jun 13, 2012

I actually received my first teaching job AT the Teach-In last year! I went to the fair when there were 15 counties/school networks participating. So you might not have the same hassle I experienced. I think I got there exactly at 7 am and I left around 3 pm with a job offer.

-- Before the Teach-In ----

Like Chebrutta said, APPLY BEFORE. You look like you've done the research and can get straight down to business.

Obtain a temporary certificate to teach in florida.