GRE

Discussion in 'Other Tests' started by Ms. I, May 8, 2009.

1. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

May 8, 2009

So, I just found out that I have to take the GRE to apply to grad school! :mad::mad::mad: (Never needed to take it before & I have a Masters already).

The CSET was the hardest exam I've ever taken, so is the GRE easier or harder?

I've been to their site to see the next test date (Oct. 24th), location, etc.

Anyone who has any info, tips, best study book to get, site giving practice questions, etc. AT ALL would be greatly appreciated!

3. 3Sons

3Sons Enthusiast

May 8, 2009

The GRE is similar to the old SAT, but add in an analytical reasoning section. I can't actually compare it to the CSET (as I'm not sure what that is).

If my memory serves me, I think there may be a brief essay section on it as well (or perhaps that was the GMAT). Standardized test essays are ludicrous and nothing to worry about, though.

My advice would be to get as many real GRE's as you possibly can and take them as practice. I'd also recommend the Princeton Review's techniques over Kaplan's, though I'm somewhat biased on that.

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

May 8, 2009

CSET exams, with the exception of CSET Writing, are about what you know. GRE is like SAT, GMAT, ACT, and CBEST in being a test of what you can do in reading, writing, and math: it's more advanced than CBEST, of course, but that's the general idea.

Princeton Review's pretty good for it, but best bet is to look at all the books and choose the one that works for you. (My personal favorite is Up Your Score, for the SAT, but it doesn't have practice questions.)

5. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

May 8, 2009

I took the GRE ... I used Princeton Review ... it wasn't bad.

6. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

May 8, 2009

Thanks guys! I know NOTHING about the GRE since I just found out I need to take it. I thought I'd get to go around it.