Graduation - I'm clueless!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by Teacheroo, Jun 20, 2007.

1. Teacheroo

Teacheroo Companion

Jun 20, 2007

HELP! I have to give a speech for the graduating 6th graders at my school, and I know I shouldn't be, but I'm scared out of my wits! I know, I know, she's a teacher, she should be good at public speaking, but I literally have sweaty palms just typing this out.

Anyway, I have no idea what to say. I would like to incorporate part of Dr. Seuss's "Oh, the Places You'll Go." (Maybe too cliche?) This is my first year teaching, I really have nothing to go on. I've been teaching a combo class all year (5/6) and have had 47 students come in and out of my classroom. Only 6 of my 16 sixth graders have been here since the beginning. One I've only had for 2 weeks. The trouble is I'm having to speak to all the 6th grade classes at promotion AND their parents. Ugh. Any tips or speech templates would be helpful. :)

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 20, 2007

How about something like this:

-Intro: quote from Oh the Place you'll go

- Quick look back at how far they've come

- Your hopes for their future-- along the lines of "I hope you'll Dance" or something similar. With kids this young I would probably talk about choices-- how our choices have consequences. Even small choices, like the choice to mock someone or befriend him, have far reaching consequences.

-End with the same quote (or the next line) from Dr. Seuss.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 20, 2007

OK, I have more time now. Here's what I think I would do:

-Intro from Dr. Seuss