Graduating in January - Jobs?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by kassrose, Jun 30, 2009.

1. kassrose

kassrose Companion

Jun 30, 2009

Hey everyone,

I will be graduating in January with a degree in El Ed. I am just wondering, what is the likelihood I will be able to find a position mid-year? Are there many long term sub positions or people that leave mid-year? I'm worried because it seems like with the economy it's hard to even find jobs for the fall.

Also, do you have any ideas for jobs I could do in the mean time? I'm currently a nanny but it hurts my heart to think I would go right back to what I'm already doing once I have my degree.

If it makes a difference, I live in AZ.

Thanks!

3. peggy27

peggy27 Cohort

Jun 30, 2009

My district you can start subbing anytime. I have known a few people who got long term subs in the middle of the year. I got one in March, teacher left. And there was an opening at the school and that is how I got my job. Good luck!!

4. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jun 30, 2009

There are openings mid year, and most LTSs happen in the spring semester. Like peggy said, most districts allow you to start subbing anytime and that would be a great way to network with principals.

5. MsMar

MsMar Fanatic

Jun 30, 2009

I was a December grad and got a LTS job that began right after the holiday break. The nice thing about a Dec graduation is that you can get some subbing experience on your resume before the positions for the next school year open up. That's assuming of course you can live off the unpredictable and not very high (in most districts anyway) pay of subbing. If you don't have to have the steady pay check of a nanny job I think the subbing would look better on your resume, plus different schools would get to know you. I know in my district it's practically unheard of for them to hire someone that wasn't either a sub or a student teacher.

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 30, 2009