Graduate Classes

Discussion in 'General Education' started by math_teacher, Feb 17, 2015.

1. math_teacher

math_teacher Companion

Feb 17, 2015

Hi. It has been a while since I was active on here - but thought of you all as a good resource while I mulled over things....

I have my master's degree that I did in person part time while working. Then I did post master's credits in person followed by some online through PDI (webteaching.com). I saw an AD in NEA magazine the other day for http://www.advancementcourses.com/courses/. I was wondering if anyone had taken classes through this online graduate program. It seems like some classes are on paper and some are online. They have A LOT of classes and seem interesting, but not sure how they are with work load. My goal is to earn credits (for the obvious salary reasons) but I am looking for classes that will be interesting without being obscene with workload.

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 17, 2015

If you are not yet a contracted teacher these classes will be resume builders at best. You will probably be hired at masters and however many years of experience. You'd be better served subbingNd getting some marketable experience.

4. math_teacher

math_teacher Companion

Feb 17, 2015

Sorry - I should have included that I am employed and have been teaching for several years at the same district.

My question is really just to see if anyone has had experience with this program to see if it is worth getting into. The classes I've read about so far seem to be paper based which is an interesting twist to me. After I started teaching, the different programs I took classes through, I always had personal contact with someone who had taken at least one class in the program before.

5. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Feb 18, 2015

Would your school accept these for salary guide movement? NJ has redefined 'what counts' in terms of PD and I know my district is somewhat particular about what they will approve.

6. math_teacher