Grading

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Math, Jun 7, 2011.

1. Math

Math Cohort

Jun 7, 2011

Do you ever get overwhelmed? Thinking how am I ever gonna get all this graded?

Is it stressful to grade because I happened to think about it.. teachers normally Secondary don't just teach one or two periods... they usually teach like five and I'm guessing at least 20 in each class.

3. amakaye

amakaye Enthusiast

Jun 7, 2011

To put it simply: Yes!

I do not have a prep period during the school day, so I'm constantly trying to stay on top of grading. The stress, however, comes when I fall behind. As long as I stay reasonably caught up, it's manageable. (And as an elementary teacher, I grade 9 subjects...)

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jun 7, 2011

I teach 5 classes, each averaging about 38 students.

I do try to stagger the grading, so not all classes come in at the same time. But this year, with 4 geometry and one Algebra class, (in addition to SAT classes that weren't graded) I just had to acknowledge that some nights I was going to get slammed.

5. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jun 7, 2011

That is just part of the job.

6. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Jun 7, 2011

yes it does get overwhelming especially when you don't plan well :)

The first year I taught two different AP courses, I didn't look at the big picture of the due dates with my two different AP courses. I got slammed ;) I had both classes turning in essays during the same week which equalled about 75 essays to read ~ yikes. I quickly had to readjust my assignments so I could get all my grading done.

Every teacher I know has some sort of system for grading to make it more manageable. For me, I needed a system that was portable so I could grade anywhere and anytime I had a few minutes. It has gotten easier since my kids are older.

7. shouldbeasleep

shouldbeasleep Enthusiast

Jun 7, 2011