Grade point averages

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by arevelyne, Nov 13, 2010.

1. arevelyne

arevelyne Rookie

Nov 13, 2010

What do you think is an appropriate GPA for your classes?

I just finished my first marking period grades and most of my classes fall in the 85/86 range while one is 90.

While I have been teaching for a while, this is my first year at this particular school. Does it look like students are where they should be or that I am an easy grader? Where do your gpa's for the class usually fall?

3. arevelyne

arevelyne Rookie

Nov 13, 2010

PS: The one class with the average of 90 is a small class (under 10 students). The other classes have about 11 - 15 students.

4. LastPlaceJason

LastPlaceJason Rookie

Nov 13, 2010

The longer I teach, the more I realize grades are arbitrary. Keep them high enough parents don't complain and low enough your administrators don't complain. That's the sweet spot. ;-)

5. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Nov 13, 2010

I think that it really depends on your students. Some years I have a higher average and other years a lower average. Its all on how much work my students put into their homework, studying for tests, etc.

6. porque_pig

porque_pig Comrade

Nov 13, 2010

I think that's a decent average. Of course, grades differ substantially among different subjects/teachers/classes, so it's really hard to judge. If you think students are doing B-level work, then it's fine!

7. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Nov 13, 2010

:lol:

I totally agree with the "grades are arbitary" part. I think our entire system of "grading" is ridiculously flawed and really proves nothing. Teachers can manipluate the process any way they want to get the grades that they want.

8. Reality Check

Reality Check Habitué

Nov 13, 2010

I agree with "bandnerdtx" and "LastPlaceJason." Just make sure your grades plot into a "Bell Curve" and everyone is happy. :thumb:

9. LastPlaceJason

LastPlaceJason Rookie

Nov 14, 2010