Grade 3 Girl with autism - Literacy help

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by monsieurteacher, Oct 18, 2007.

1. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

Oct 18, 2007

In my job I work as a resource teacher with the grade 3-5 students, and one of my students is a girl in grade three with autism.

I've worked with children with autism in the past, but this is the first time I've done it in a school setting, and while she seems to be fairly high functioning, hypothetical questions are beyond her... Quite often we'll work on reading comprehension that her teacher asks me to do, and the question will be something like "what would have happened if Fran hadn't picked up the chicken", and she can tell me everything that happened in the story, but if it didn't actually happen, she can't explain it... it's like pulling teeth, I don't know if there's strategies that can help, or if that is considered to be a question that isn't appropriate... I'm wondering what you guys think?

3. slickchik

slickchik Rookie

Oct 19, 2007

Maybe try giving her some prompts to help her along. It isn't a skill she has so you need to teach it to her.

So when you ask her a question wait and see if she has an answer, if she seems stuck give her some options, or cues.....like, do you think Fran would be happy or sad? Etc.....

4. monsieurteacher

Oct 19, 2007

Ok, that's what I have been doing, I just wasn't sure how to "teach" a skill that comes naturally to most, other than giving cues, generally, any cues that I give she'll say "yes" to, no matter what.

5. rogue0208

rogue0208 Companion

Oct 19, 2007

She seems like she's having a lot of trouble with inferential comprehension (like my new word! I just had to use it on my teaching certification exam, so now I have it on my brain :p).