Grad School and Teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by VANewbie, Dec 10, 2010.

1. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Dec 10, 2010

Hi everyone. I know I have not been on here in awhile but I have been so busy with school. I'm so tired when I get home and can't seem to do much else.

Which brings me to my question. I am starting graduate school in January and wonder how hard/easy it is to take 1-3 classes while teaching.
    I am going to go regardless but I am wondering how will I keep up with everything. Anyone do it now? Tips?

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Dec 10, 2010

Like most teachers I know, I got my Masters while teaching full time.

I took one class per semester, and 2 per summer. I thought that more than that would simply be too difficult to manage.

I'm not sure about any tips; I finished in 1984 so I've forgotten any timesavers I ever knew.

4. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Dec 10, 2010

I did 2 classes one semester to finish up and it was hell. I would not recommend doing more than one class. Definitely not three.

5. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Dec 10, 2010

:(
    I have to take more than one to get loans. I will probably take 2.

6. porque_pig

porque_pig Comrade

Dec 10, 2010

I'm working on my Master's full-time and teaching part-time (for the university). Even my weekends are devoted completely to classwork, so I don't have a lot of free time. I think taking any more than two classes while teaching full-time may be too tough.

Here are things I do to make my life a little easier:
    1. I make sure I reserve at least one evening a week for relaxing. Even though I need to get work done, I need a break to continue to be focused and productive. I pick a day each week and take it a little easier on that day in terms of schoolwork and lesson planning.