Got asked to teach inclusion class...need advice!!!!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teacher Chele, Jul 16, 2009.

1. Teacher Chele

Teacher Chele Habitué

Jul 16, 2009

I am starting at a brand new school and my principal told me today that she has picked me to teach the inclusion class for 5th grade.:unsure: I've been teaching for 15 years, but have never had an inclusion class. I feel very honored, but very nervous. I need advice, prayers, and words of wisdom, PLEASE.

3. msmullenjr

msmullenjr Devotee

Jul 16, 2009

i wish i had advice but I do have well wishes for ya

4. glen

glen Companion

Jul 16, 2009

I did first grade inclusion for two years. Our model was to have a full-time general ed teacher, a full-time special ed teacher, and an aide(s) as assigned to specific children. Unless disabilities were severe, the students were all in the classroom all day. Students with severe disabilities were in the classroom as appropriate for the individual. Does your school follow the same model or something different?

5. WindyCityGal606

WindyCityGal606 Enthusiast

Jul 16, 2009

I've been the regular ed teacher in an inclusion room before and our model was similar to the one posted by pp. We just didn't have an aide. I agree that you need to find out what your school's model is.

6. ahsila

ahsila Companion

Jul 16, 2009

Get your hands on the IEPs. Those should give you a great deal of information about the identified students you will have. Familiarize yourself with any accommodations they will need (accommodations affect HOW students learn - maybe they need preferential seating, opportunity to move around instead of sitting still, or they might need to read out loud to retain information). If any modifications are needed (modifications affect the actual curriculum - WHAT they learn - shortened assignments, fewer spelling words, etc.) you can go to your SpEd teacher or IEP facilitator if you have one in your district/building.