Google Classroom Tips

Discussion in 'General Education' started by otterpop, Apr 10, 2020.

1. otterpop

otterpop Phenom

Apr 10, 2020

Whether you're a newbie or experienced user to Google Classroom, what tips do you have for simplifying grading and making the classroom as easy to run as possible?

I'm a beginner, but my tip is to turn off all student commenting unless it's directly, privately to me. It eliminates the need to moderate discussions, which we have via other platforms.

Last edited: Apr 20, 2020
    MrsC likes this.
  3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Apr 10, 2020

I set notifications to come to my phone during the school week, that way I don't miss anything.

I use the To Do list to keep on top of what I need to grade and return.

4. MntnHiker

MntnHiker Rookie

Apr 10, 2020

If it's just a quick check of understanding or just a few questions you want them to answer, do it as a question rather than an assignment. Heads up: the default setting is that they can see each others' answers, so if you don't want that, uncheck that box. But this way, all their answers will come up on one screen and you can quickly scroll down them to check their answers rather than having to open a bunch of different documents for each student.

MrsC likes this.
  5. otterpop

otterpop Phenom

Apr 10, 2020

I had no idea there was a way to not let them see others' answers. I will have to look up how to do that.

Last edited: Apr 10, 2020
  6. MntnHiker

MntnHiker Rookie

Apr 13, 2020

When you go to post a Google Question, look down in the bottom right of your screen and the first box will be automatically checked and say something like "Let students reply to each other." If you uncheck that, they won't be able to see or respond to each other. You CAN go back in later and check it if you do want them to respond to each other after a set amount of time.

7. Camel13

Camel13 Companion

Apr 13, 2020