Good end of the year projects

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by woobie5, Apr 12, 2012.

1. woobie5

woobie5 Comrade

Apr 12, 2012

Ok ... so I posted about academic contests and got one response that maybe it wasn't a good idea haha. SOOO would anyone have any suggestions on good end of the year projects? This is my first year in second and our curriculum is so dry I need help! These kids are so checked out and we still have 25 days left.

3. readingrules12

readingrules12 Aficionado

Apr 13, 2012

I agree that some fun items this time of year can get them energized. 2nd grade and contests wouldn't be my favorite combination--although it might turn out okay.

I would suggest energizing the regular things you often do. For example, get really dramatic in correcting sentences in "grammar hospital". Wear a surgeon's mask and act like you are operating on the sentences. Let them get their "training on operating on sentences" so they can be surgeons too. Then present them with a license and a doctor's mask to operate on sentences. Grammar hospital has been around awhile, and I know when I taught 3rd grade, they loved it.

For geography, try using play-dough to make maps of whatever standards you are teaching. That can be a lot of fun and it easy for some parents to make and to have their child bring it into school.

Good luck!

4. jsais

jsais Rookie

Apr 13, 2012

I like to do readers theater at the end of the year. It keeps the kids reading, and it is highly motivating. You could even do easy costumes and have a performance (giving them something to work towards). In years past, I have also had an end of the year poetry reading, where the kids work on writing poetry, then we have a day performance where parents come in, and we set things up like a coffee shop poetry reading with snacks and all.

5. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Apr 13, 2012