Good Books!

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by arnolamy, Jul 15, 2008.

1. arnolamy

arnolamy Rookie

Jul 15, 2008

Hi I am a new teacher at the middle school level. Although I will be teaching special education I want to expose the students to some good grade level literature. Any suggestions??? Thanks!

3. cwp873

cwp873 Comrade

Jul 15, 2008

My kids love Sharon Draper's books. They also really like the Bluford series, but I haven't read any of those- so I don't know if they are any good or not. (I teach science- so I see what they are reading, but don't get to read with them:()

4. Mrs. R.

Mrs. R. Connoisseur

Jul 15, 2008

Check out the site for Nancie Atwell's school in Maine: http://c-t-l.org/kids_recommend.html

This page is a list of books her students recommend as being really good books. I use this list every year to add books to my classroom library. It's a great place to start.

5. MrL

MrL Companion

Jul 16, 2008

Popular ones around here include the Artemis Fowl series and really just about any other fantasy series. I hear online how parents occasionally get upset about Harry Potter books, but that's the only name most know. They won't blink an eye at any other fantasy series but Harry Potter.

Kinda like how I had a friend in high school who could play any role-playing game (Rifts, Call of Cthulhu, Star Wars) as long as it wasn't Dungeons & Dragons. Nevermind that we accomplished the same thing with a different brand name...

6. stepka

stepka Comrade

Jul 22, 2008

There's a new series around here that is setting the MS kids on fire. It's by Stephenie Myer and the first one is called Twilight. I wasn't overly impressed myself, but it's caught on with the reluctant readers and I can't find anything wrong with it. It's a love story that centers around a girl, a vampire, and a werewolf.

7. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Jul 22, 2008